Global (English)

FedEx Safety Focus Forges Forward

2017 State TDCs Will Mark 15th Year of Chairman’s Challenge


For FedEx drivers, contracted service providers and couriers, the message of “Safety Above All” reinforces the company’s continued commitment to promoting safety as its number one priority.

Beginning in late March, FedEx drivers will bring that commitment to safety to the annual truck driving championships in all 50 states, with champions advancing to the American Trucking Associations’ National Truck Driving Championships and National Step Van Driving Championships (NTDC & NSVDC) August 8-12.

This will mark the 15th year drivers have competed collectively since FedEx Chairman and CEO Frederick W. Smith conceived the Chairman’s Challenge as a call to drivers from all FedEx operating companies to represent the corporation at the championships. By competing at the truck driving championships, drivers have an opportunity to demonstrate their skills and professionalism while promoting the importance of safety on America’s roads and highways.

Drivers have to be accident-free for at least the previous year leading up to the championships. Over the past 14 years, drivers representing FedEx have won 44 National Championships, including three National Grand Championships.

Last year, FedEx was represented for the first time by drivers from all 50 states at the NTDC and NSVDC. A record 174 drivers with more than 3,800 years of professional driving experience and more than 230 million safe driving miles among them qualified to compete at the national championships.

Team FedEx had 19 drivers finish in the top-five of their respective truck classes in 2016, including four who captured national championships.

Ron Metternick, a FedEx Freight driver based in Grand Rapids, Mich., won the National Championships in the 4-Axle Class. Toby Kort, a FedEx Freight driver based in Aurora, Neb., won the 5-Axle category. Jay Love, a FedEx Freight driver based in Sioux Falls, S.D., won the Flatbed trophy.

FedEx Express Courier Daniel Woods, based in Christiansburg, Va., won the Step Van National Championship.

The 2017 state championships begin with the Louisiana Motor Transport Association Truck Driving Championships March 24-25. Four state championships will be held in April, 11 in May and 33 during the month of June. The final state event is the Arkansas Trucking Championship July 13-15.

Champions in nine different classes will be determined at the state championships – 3-Axle Class, 4-Axle Class, 5-Axle Class, 5-Axle Sleeper Berth Class, Flatbed Class, Step Van Class, Straight Truck Class, Tank Truck Class and Twins Class.